Subscribe to RSS - ERM


And the award goes to ...

Sunday, July 13, 2008

The Alliance for Enterprise Security Risk Management — a partnership of ASIS International and ISACA — is seeking nominations for its third annual AESRM Excellence in Security Convergence and Contribution to Enterprise Risk Management Award. The award was created to honor individuals who are leading the growing field of risk management and convergence.

“Understanding the convergence of physical and information security and how it fits within enterprise risk management is key to expanding the dialogue about security’s role in ERM,” said Emil D’Angelo, chair of AESRM. “Enterprises worldwide are recognizing the importance of collaboration among physical and information security to minimize risks most effectively.”

Individuals nominated for the award should exhibit leadership in improving the understanding of security’s role in enterprise security risk management throughout their organizations. Their work should involve people, processes and technology to manage security risks inside of a holistic model managing the enterprise risks. Additionally, nominees must demonstrate how they have shared their security risk management accomplishments with people outside of their organizations.

Nomination forms are available on the AESRM web site. The deadline for nominations is July 11, 2008. Nominees must be members in good standing of ASIS International or ISACA. Three representatives from each organization will judge the nomination forms.

So you want to know what you get out of it? The winner of the Excellence in Security Convergence and Contribution to ERM Award will receive an expenses-paid trip to the ASIS International 54th Annual Seminar and Exhibits in September. ("You've just won the AESRM Excellence in Convergence Award Bob. What are you going to do now?" "I'm going to ASIS International!"

One of my favorite beer drinkers, Dave Tyson, previously chief security officer for the City of Vancouver, Canada and currently the senior director of information security operations at eBay in San Jose, Calif., is a past winner. He also served as a keynote speaker at TechSec in 2007.

First winner of Roy Bordes award: Hong Kong

Friday, June 20, 2008

The ASIS Foundation today awarded the first Roy Bordes Award for Physical Security to the ASIS Hong Kong chapter. This award consists of a customized physical security program that is delivered to the winning chapter on site, covering instructors, their travel and accommodations, and collateral materials.

From the release:
“We’re pleased to give the Hong Kong chapter the first Roy Bordes Award for Physical Security, recognizing Roy’s life work,” said David Davis, president of the ASIS Foundation Board of Trustees. “The Hong Kong chapter’s application demonstrated a strong commitment to membership growth, education and a desire to promote best practices in physical security.”

“The ASIS Hong Kong Chapter leadership is delighted to be the recipient of this award,” said Douglas Renwick, chairman of the Hong Kong chapter. “The security profession in Hong Kong, Macau and China is set to grow notably in the coming decade and ASIS will be at the forefront of professionalism with awards of this nature facilitating continued growth and expansion of chapters.”

The ASIS International education staff will collaborate with Renwick and others in the Hong Kong chapter to develop a two-and-a-half day program on advanced physical security that will cover developing technologies and international trends.

As many of you know, the Foundation Board of Trustees established the Roy Bordes Award for Physical Security in 2007 in order to recognize Bordes’ commitment to ASIS International and to the security profession. Bordes died in early 2008, after spending more than 30 years in the security industry.